So, I found this old cutting from November 2006, where the Guardian newspaper’s Weekend magazine features the movers and shakers of the web.

There is a great interview with Craig Newmark of Craiglist.

His words have stayed in my mind.

(My ultimate test: if an idea stays in my mind, I know it is has legs – please pardon mixed metaphor).

Asked by Guardian deputy editor, Ian Katz, why the new interactive Web 2 sites are run by developers rather than bankers, Craig Newmark replies:

“Some of this is because a lot of technology developers read science fiction and some of that is a good predictor…A lot of what’s happening today was discussed in science fiction years ago.”

I love that – the way our imaginations inform the present.

Certainly the four of the most influential  books in my life are set in the future: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, 1984 by George Orwell, The Handmaiden’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, and Ecotopia by Ernest Callenbach.

What has influenced your thinking?

